Strategies for Addressing Brain Injury Recovery

The levels of cognitive functioning are an evaluation tool used by the rehabilitation team. The eight levels describe the patterns or stages of recovery typically seen after a brain injury. This helps the team understand and focus on the person’s abilities and design an appropriate treatment program.

Each person will process at their own rate, depending on:

  • the severity of the brain injury
  • the location of the injury in the brain
  • length of time since the brain injury

Some individuals will pass through each of the eight levels, while others may progress to a certain level and fail to change to the next higher level.

It is important to remember that each person is an individual and there are many factors that need to be considered when assigning a level of cognition. There are a range of abilities within each of the levels and your family member may exhibit some or all of the behaviors.